6 Reasons to Start Shopping at Aldi

img_9493

No matter your age, where you live, what car you drive-everyone eventually has to go to the grocery store. While most grocery stores basically sell the same products, there are always so many stores to choose from. Within fifteen miles of my apartment I have the options of Bi-Lo, Wal-Mart, Ingles, Publix, Lowes Foods, Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Earth Fare, Sams, and Costco. All great stores that I’ve always had amazing experiences at for various reasons. However, I’ve recently discovered the magical land of Aldi. I had heard people talk about Aldi plenty of times in the past.

“ Oh I love Aldi!”

“Aldi has great prices!”

“I always get my produce at Aldi!”

But I never thought much about it because that’s all they would say. Even after having several friends tell me that they’ve started shopping there I still hadn’t set foot into an Aldi. It wasn’t until my mom came home with a box full of fruits and vegetables and told me that she only paid six dollars for all of it that it all changed. SIX DOLLARS! I was so impressed that I had to see what all the hype was about, and now that I’ve been shopping at Aldi for almost three months—I honestly can’t imagine myself getting my weekly groceries anywhere else.

Why you need to be shopping at Aldi too…

  1. Produce of the Week

Yes, it’s true—their prices on produce in general are amazing compared to that of another img_9488grocery store. However, it’s their produce of the week picks that consistently blow my mind. Every week there are three of their produce that they have on special sale. I’m talking a pack of three green bell peppers for seventy-nine cents sale. Avocados for forty-nine cents a piece sale. THAT IS RIDICULOUSLY CHEAP! I almost always get their produce of the week no matter what it is, because for prices that good I’ll find a way to incorporate it into my meals.

  1. Organic for Cheap

 Okay so I feel like most people have started to go the organic-gluten free route in their diets lately. Now it’s always a great thing when you want to make your life healthier, but have you seen some of the prices on stuff lately? Whole Foods has tons of organic and gluten free products for you but you’ll end up spending fifty bucks on six items. Now unless you are a millionaire who just loves throwing their money around, that’s gonna really start to hurt your grocery budget. Health nuts no longer have to fear for their wallets, because Aldi is here to save the day! Aldi has a huge selection of organic AND gluten free products for a fraction of the cost. Now being healthy won’t actually break your bank.

  1. Off Brand Glory

img_9487For me, buying off brand food products can either be a hit or a miss. Sure, it’s usually cheaper to buy that store’s brand of product but it’s usually not as good. Well I can say with 100% certainty that there has not been an Aldi-brand product that I haven’t loved. Tortilla chips, salsa, cheese, yogurt, soup…you name it I’ve probably tried it and it’s all just as good if not better! Hands down my favorite Aldi-brand product has to be their Vie Sparkling Water. They come in a variety of flavors and taste just as amazing as La Croix but they cost almost exactly HALF THE PRICE!

  1. Name Brands Too!

Not into the off brands? I totally get that! One reason I never found myself doing all my img_9490shopping at Trader Joes is because all they have is their brand of products. Not at Aldi! Aldi has tons and tons of brand name products for a reduced price. Nothing is wrong with them and there is no quick approaching expiration date, just sold a lot cheaper because of the selection they offer. Just on my last trip there I saw products like Gatorade, Capri Sun, Pringles, Naked smoothies, McCormick, Tide, and Little Debbie. That’s just me naming a few of them; there are dozens of name brands all throughout the store for you to choose from.

  1. Save the Planet

Everyone should always be looking for ways to improve our planet and make the environment a better place. Aldi is a great place to practice those green skills! At Aldi they don’t waste a single thing. All products are placed directly on the shelf in their boxes that they were shipped in and they don’t use any bags when you check-out. What you’ll have to do is either bring your own re-usable bag or you can just grab one of the empty boxes that was on the shelves and pack your groceries in. Voila! You just shopped for groceries and made one small step to reduce waste.

  1. B.U.D.G.E.T.

Okay so as far as making a budget for grocery shopping…I’m terrible. I always make a list before I go to the store but I usually end up buying twice as much stuff as I went in there for. Before I started shopping at Aldi I was spending about $60-80 a week on groceries. My list would usually consist of groceries to cook two dinners and lunch for the week for myself. Now, I’m spending about $30-40 a week and I can get groceries for two dinners, lunch for the week, breakfast for the week, and snacks. Think I’m exaggerating? This is my exact list of groceries that I bought on my last trip to Aldi:

  • Almond milk
  • Orange juiceimg_9494
  • Boneless chicken breasts
  • Breakfast sausage
  • Turkey Pepperoni
  • Pesto sauce
  • Pack of mini cucumbers
  • Two packs of tomatoes
  • Bag of onions
  • Fresh salsa
  • Raspberries
  • Mushrooms
  • Mayonnaise
  • Spinach
  • Mint chocolate chip ice cream
  • 12pk sparkling water
  • Naked smoothie

img_9495All of that for exactly $41.24!! I’m spending less and getting more groceries than I ever use to when I would shop at another store.

Aldi might not be a household name just yet, but I strongly encourage you to give it a try. Saving money on groceries doesn’t mean that you have to be an extreme couponer…if you take advantage of places like Aldi then you can easily save hundreds of dollars a year. Use the link below to see if there is an Aldi near you and start shopping and start saving!!

https://storelocator.aldi.us/Presentation/AldiSued/en-us/Start

One thought on “6 Reasons to Start Shopping at Aldi

Leave a Reply

