Turkey Sausage and Veggie Frittata

IMG_9371-2

            I am the type of person who loves breakfast, but definitely doesn’t feel like making it at six in the morning. When I first started my teaching career I found myself tired and grumpy by the time school was out everyday. After talking with my doctor we both came to the conclusion that getting more energy for the day was going to have to start with a protein based breakfast. This was going to be somewhat of a struggle to get use to because I spent most mornings grabbing a granola bar on the way out the door…no way did I want to get up any earlier than I was use to. So one of the things I did to help me get use to breakfast in the morning without losing extra sleep was breakfast meal prep. I’m not saying I prepped every single breakfast item, but maybe I cooked my meat the night before and just heated it up or I went ahead and cut all my fruit for the week. Eating a good breakfast before work has seriously changed my entire work day! I feel more energized throughout the day and when I get home I don’t feel like crashing in my bed anymore. With that said, this turkey sausage and veggie frittata has been one of my favorite breakfast prep meals. It has tons of protein and good vegetables in it to keep you going and keep you full…plus it tastes great with hot sauce! 😉

Ingredients you’ll need:

  • 6 turkey sausage links cooked and sliced to your preference (I do frozen usually)
  • 5 eggs
  • ½ a yellow onion-diced and sautéed
  • ½ a green pepper-diced and sautéed
  • ½ cup of mushrooms-diced and sautéed
  • ½ cup of sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 cup of spinach (you can sauté this with your veggies too or you can toss it in fresh)
  • ½ cup of feta cheese
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • ¼ teaspoon of pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon minced garlic

IMG_9368

What to do:

  1. Prep the turkey sausage and veggies. Even though dicing all the different vegetables takes a few minutes, the flavors really work well together in this dish. Some ways that I’ve cut down on prep time is I have bought pre-diced vegetables and I sometimes divide my pan so that the sausage is cooking in one half, the veggies in the other half. (They’re all going in the same dish anyways.) Or if you want a good crunch in your frittata you can skip the sautéing and put them in fresh!
  2. Once you have the pre-cooking done its time to assemble the frittata! Crack your eggs in a bowl and stir in the salt and pepper.
  3. After you’ve broken all the yolks in the eggs, add in all of the veggies, cheese, and garlic.
  4. Mix together well in bowl.
  5. Spray a baking dish or skillet well with cooking spray and then pour your mixture into the dish.
  6. Bake in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes or until the eggs are done to your liking.
  7. Enjoy! I usually like to add a little hot sauce or sour cream on mine to add a little something something, or you can just rock it as is!

 

Leave a Reply

