Holiday Traditions

DSC_8625.jpg

The holidays are hands down my favorite time of the year, but there’s no denying that they can be stressful. Making sure you’ve bought gifts for everyone, planning family time, planning friend time, traveling…it’s a lot to handle all at once. However, pushing all the stress and worry aside the thing that I love most about the holidays are all of the traditions. Things that no matter what, I know that I will do and I look forward to each year. My mom always calls me a ‘traditionalist’ (which is really just her way of calling me an old fuddy duddy) because I’m all about my traditions.

She always says she would love to go on a vacation for Christmas but if that was the case I would be pullin a Kevin McAllister and celebrate by myself at home. Now don’t get me wrong, I know there might come a time when I don’t spend Christmas Eve night at my parents house and spend Christmas morning opening presents with my brother in our pajamas. But I think knowing this makes my love of holiday traditions even stronger. No matter where I am or who I’m with I can always make Christmas Eve cookies. Plus, traditions have to start somewhere so it’s not always a bad thing to make a new one.

Here are some of my favorite holiday traditions that I look forward to every year.

  1. Baking Christmas cookies with my mom on Christmas Eve.

 

  1. Watching a Christmas Story the full 24 hours. (Well watching it really once or twice, but it’s definitely on in the background on at least one T.V. in the house.)

 

  1. Opening one present on Christmas Eve.

 

  1. Going to look at Christmas lights with my dad.

 

  1. Waking up my brother…I’m the younger sibling so it’s my duty to jump on his bed to wake him up.

 

  1. Making Christmas breakfast with my family and it eating it while we watch movies all morning long.

 

What are some of your family’s favorite holiday traditions? Comment below!

One thought on “Holiday Traditions

Leave a comment